Hopkins & Ohio Co. tornado victims can sign up for FEMA assistance

Published: Dec. 16, 2021 at 1:27 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HOPKINS CO., Ky. (WFIE) - Emergency Management officials say residents of Hopkins County and now Ohio County can apply for FEMA Individual Disaster Assistance

They say those impacted and in need of assistance should do the following:

  • Visit disasterassistance.gov or call 1-800-621-3362
  • If you use a TTY: 1-800-462-7585
  • Please have the following available when you call:
  • Your address and zip code
  • Condition of your damaged home
  • Insurance information (if available)
  • Social Security Number
  • Phone number where you can be reached
  • Address where you can get mail or an email address to receive electronic notifications
  • Direct Deposit Information
  • Bank account type, account number and bank routing number
  • Information to keep after call:
  • You will be given a 9-digit FEMA registration number. You will need this number for future communication with FEMA

Survivors of the storms who apply for disaster assistance from FEMA may be referred to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) with information on how to apply for a disaster loan. It’s important to submit the loan application as soon as possible.

If your application is approved, you are not obligated to accept an SBA loan but failure to return the application may disqualify you from other possible FEMA assistance.

SBA disaster loans are the largest source of federal disaster recovery funds for survivors. SBA offers long-term, low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters.

SBA disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other resources. Survivors should not wait for an insurance settlement before submitting an SBA loan application. They may discover they were underinsured for the deductible, labor and materials required to repair or replace their home.

You may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website at disasterloanassistance.sba.gov/ela/s/. Paper applications may be requested by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 TTY) or by emailing to DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov. There is no cost to apply for an SBA disaster loan.

Homeowners may be eligible for a disaster loan up to $200,000 for primary residence structural repairs or rebuilding. SBA may also be able to help homeowners and renters with up to $40,000 to replace important personal property, including automobiles damaged or destroyed in the disaster.

SBA makes Physical Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to qualified businesses or private nonprofit organizations. These loan proceeds may be used for the repair or replacement of real property, machinery, equipment, fixtures, inventory or leasehold improvements. The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Feb. 10, 2022.

Economic Injury Disaster Loans are available to small businesses and most nonprofit organizations in Caldwell, Fulton, Graves, Hopkins, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Taylor and Warren counties and in these adjacent counties: Adair, Allen, Barren, Butler, Calloway, Carlisle, Casey, Christian, Crittenden, Edmonson, Green, Hickman, Larue, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marion, McCracken, McLean, Ohio, Simpson, Todd, Trigg and Webster in Kentucky; Mississippi and New Madrid in Missouri; and Henry, Lake, Obion and Weakley in Tennessee. The filing deadline to return applications for economic injury damage is Sept. 12, 2022.

For an American Sign Language (ASL) video, go online to Reasons to Apply for an SBA Loan.

For more information about Kentucky tornado recovery, visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4630. Follow the FEMA

Copyright 2021 WFIE. All rights reserved.