3 EVSC School Board members sworn in

3 EVSC School Board members sworn in

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WFIE) - Three EVSC School Board members were sworn in Monday.

They include current board members Terry Gamblin, Karen Ragland, and newly-elected member Amy Word.

We spoke to Word, who’s a former teacher herself, about why she wanted to be part of the school board.

“For me, a wonderful school system is the foundation of democracy. It means everything to me to come back to my roots,” explained Wood. “My parents are teachers, I have siblings that are teachers; it’s kind of in my blood and to come full circle is really an awesome thing for me.”

This is Word’s first elected position with the school system. Andrew Guarino was named President of the board, while Chris Kiefer was named board Vice President.

Copyright 2021 WFIE. All rights reserved.