Leonhardt named to Player of the Year watch list

Leonhardt named to Player of the Year watch list

EVANSVILLE, IN (WFIE) -University of Southern Indiana Softball junior pitcher Jennifer Leonhardt (Louisville, Kentucky) was named to the Schutt Sports/NFCA Division II Player of the Year Watch List for the 2019 season. She was named to the Fastpitch News Preseason All-America second team on January 25.

Last year’s NCAA II Softball Championship Most Outstanding Player, Leonhardt is coming off a dominating post-season performance that saw her post a 12-1 record with a 1.35 ERA, a .152 opponent batting average and 96 strikeouts. Her effort was instrumental in leading the Screaming Eagles to their first-ever national championship.

In the NCAA II Softball Championship alone, Leonhardt was 5-0 with a 1.44 ERA, a .091 opponent batting average and 40 strikeouts in 34 innings of work. She was later named second-team All-America by Fastpitch News.

After recording a one-hit shutout in USI’s win over No. 1 University of North Georgia in the opener of last year’s NCAA II Softball Championship, Leonhardt returned the next day to record USI’s first-ever post-season no hitter (baseball or softball) in USI’s 3-0 win over Angelo State University.

An NFCA and D2CCA All-American as a freshman in 2017, Leonhardt finished the 2018 campaign with a 26-12 overall record, a 2.29 ERA, a .194 opponent batting average and a single-season school-record 277 strikeouts. She led the GLVC in wins and opponent batting average during her sophomore campaign.

Leonhardt is one of three Great Lakes Valley Conference players to be recognized on the watch list and one of eight players from the Midwest Region.

The preseason No. 1-ranked Eagles, who were picked to win the GLVC, begin defense of their national championship Friday at noon when they take on No. 13 Young Harris College in the opening game of the UAH Charger Chillout in Huntsville, Alabama.

2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II Player of the Year Watch List

*Denotes returning NFCA All-American

Kiara Akles, So., University of Alabama in Huntsville

Kaitlyn Beers, Jr., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Georgia Capell, So., Tarleton State University *

Kayla Cato, Sr., Claflin University

Meredith Daunhauer, Sr., Kentucky Wesleyan College

Stephanie Day, Jr., Colorado Christian University *

Makaleigh Dooley, Sr., University of Tampa *

Abbey Fortin, Jr., Long Island University Post *

Bri Garber, Jr., West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Shelby Hammontree, Jr., University of North Georgia

Alaina Hampton, So., University of Alabama in Huntsville

Sherriah Harrington, So., University of California, San Diego *

Emily Harris, So., Young Harris College *

Cambrie Hazel, So., Dixie State University *

Kinsie Hebler, Jr., Texas A&M University-Commerce *

Hanna Holland, Sr., Humboldt State University

Tanna Huie, Sr., Tarleton State University

Kacie Kelly, Jr., Saint Leo University

Katie Kish, Sr., Hillsdale College *

Jordyn Kleman, Jr., Winona State University *

Taegan Kirk, Sr., Angelo State University *

Brooke Larsen, So., California State University, Chico *

Clara Larson, Jr., Colorado School of Mines *

Jennifer Leonhardt, Jr., University of Southern Indiana *

Allison Lipovsky, Sr., Grand Valley State University *

Ashley Mickschl, So., Augustana University *

Kylee Moore, Sr., West Texas A&M University *

Taylor Moran, Jr., Lee University *

Callie Nunes, So., Concordia University Irvine *

Makray Odom Jr., Trevecca Nazarene University *

Austine Pauley, Jr., Lindenwood University

Elizabeth Perdue, Sr., Columbus State University

Samantha Reilly, Sr., Georgian Court University *

Christa Reisinger, Sr., Truman State University *

Lacie Rinus, Jr., Carson-Newman University *

Rebekah Slattery, Sr., Lock Haven University

Kylie Smith, Jr., University of North Georgia *

Tylia Sylestine, Sr., Texas Woman’s University

Victoria Taylor, Jr., Southern Arkansas University *

Mallory Teunissen, Sr., Davenport University

AnnMarie Torres, Jr., Colorado Mesa University *

Suka Van Gurp, Sr., Nova Southeastern University *

Lani Van Zyl, Sr., Winona State University *

Lakyn Wagoner, Jr., University of Illinois at Springfield

Robyn Wampler, So., University of California, San Diego

Maria Williamson, Sr., Coker College *

Kaitlyn Weis, Jr., Northwest Missouri State University *

Ryanne Whitaker, Sr., Western Oregon University

Jenna Witt, Jr., Concord University *

Kristen Worley, Jr., California State University, Chico

Courtesy: USI Athletics

Copyright 2019 WFIE. All rights reserved.