North's Anna Newman Named to Indiana All-Stars

North's Anna Newman Named to Indiana All-Stars

INDIANAPOLIS (WFIE) - Thirteen players have been selected for the 2018 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars, it was announced Tuesday (March 6).
        Those chosen to the team will play three games in June -- one exhibition game against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.
        The 2018 Indiana Girls All-Stars, listed alphabetically, are: Angel Baker of Pike, Jenasae Bishop of East Chicago Central, Mackenzie Blazek of Whiteland, Leigha Brown of DeKalb, Nia Clark of Ben Davis, Amy Dilk of Carmel, Katlyn Gilbert of Heritage Christian, Cassidy Hardin of Center Grove, Emily Kiser of Noblesville, Anna Newman of Evansville North, Tomi Taiwo of Carmel, Kayana Traylor of Martinsville and Michaela White of Pike.

The head coach for the 2018 Girls All-Stars will be Pat McKee of Columbus North. He will be assisted by DeAnn Booth of East Noble and Corie West of Avon.
        The 2018 IndyStar Indiana Miss Basketball will be announced from within the group of All-Stars listed above at The Star's Indiana Sports Awards Dinner on April 29 at Clowes Memorial Hall in Indianapolis.

The Junior-Senior exhibition game is set for June 6 at a site to be announced. The first game against Kentucky will be June 8 in Kentucky at a site to be announced. The final game against Kentucky will be June 9 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

All three dates will be doubleheaders with the IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars.
        Also, the Indiana Junior All-Stars will play the Kentucky Junior All-Stars on June 1 in Kentucky and June 2 in Indiana, sites to be announced. Those events also will be girls-boys doubleheaders.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls' portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976.

The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar brand, is a title sponsor and Best Choice Fieldhouse is a presenting sponsor.

Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Charlie Hall after observing games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state, and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each can recommend up to 12 players.

A complete list of those chosen as 2018 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars follows.

2018 IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars

Name, School, Height, Pos., PPG, College Choice

Angel Baker, Pike, 5-8, G, 21.7, Wright State

Jenasae Bishop, East Chicago Central, 5-8, G, 18.6, Boston College

Mackenzie Blazek, Whiteland, 6-3, C, 18.4, Illinois

Leigha Brown, DeKalb, 6-1, F/G, 28.0, Nebraska

Nia Clark, Ben Davis, 5-8, G, 16.2, Miami (Ohio)

Amy Dilk, Carmel, 5-10, G, 17.8, Michigan

Katlyn Gilbert, Heritage Christian, 5-10, G, 18.5, Notre Dame

Cassidy Hardin, Center Grove, 5-10, G, 17.5, Purdue

Emily Kiser, Noblesville, 6-2, F, 21.0, Michigan

Anna Newman, Evansville North, 5-4, G, 18.2, Evansville

Tomi Taiwo, Carmel, 5-9, G, 16.4, Iowa

Kayana Traylor, Martinsville, 5-9, G, 21.4, Purdue

Michaela White, Pike, 6-0, F, 14.7, Indiana State

        Head coach: Pat McKee, Columbus North

        Assistant coaches: DeAnn Booth, East Noble; Corie West, Avon

Courtesy:  Pat McKee, IBCA Director of Special Projects.   Copyright 2018, WFIE, All rights reserved.