Nominees and winners for the 88th Academy Awards - Tri-State News, Weather & Sports

Nominees and winners for the 88th Academy Awards

(RNN) - Here is a list of the nominees and winners of key categories for the 88th Academy Awards on Feb 28, 2016. The full list of categories can be found on the Oscar’s website.

Best Picture:

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies


Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant


Spotlight - WINNER

Best Actor in a Leading Role:

Bryan Cranston – Trumbo

Matt Damon – The Martian

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant - WINNER

Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs

Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

Best Actress in a Leading Role:

Cat Blanchet – Carol

Brie Larson – Room - WINNER

Jennifer Lawrence – Joy

Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years

Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

Christian Bale – The Big Short

Tom Hardy – The Revenant

Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight

Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies - WINNER

Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:

Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

Roonery Mara – Carol

Rachel McAdams – Spotlight

Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl - WINNER

Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs

Best Animated Feature Film:


Boy and the World

Inside Out - WINNER

Shaun the Sheep Movie

When Marnie was there

Best Cinematography:

Ed Lachman – Carol

Robert Richardson – The Hateful Eight

John Seale – Mad Max: Fury Road

Emmanuel Lubezki – The Revenant - WINNER

Roger Deakins – Sicario

Best Costume Design:

Sandy Powell – Carol

Sandy Powell – Cinderella

Paco Delgado – The Danish Girl

Jenny Beavan – Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

Jacqueline West – The Revenant

Best Directing:

Adam McKay – The Big Short

George Miller - Mad Max: Fury Road

Alejandro G. Inarritu – The Revenant - WINNER

Lenny Abrahamson – Room

Tom McCarthy – Spotlight

Best Documentary Feature:


Cartel Land

The Look of Silence

What Happened, Miss Simone?

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom

Best Documentary Short:

Body Team 12

Chau, Beyond the Lines

Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah

A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness - WINNER

Last Day of Freedom

Best Film Editing:

Hank Corwin – The Big Short

Margaret Sixel – Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

Stephen Mirrione – The Revenant

Tom McArdle - Spotlight

Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Foreign Language Film:

Embrace the Serpent


Son of Saul - WINNER


A War

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:

Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin – Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

Love Larson and Eva von Bahr - The 100-Year-Old Man who climbed out the Window and Disappeared

Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini – The Revenant

Best Original Score:

Thomas Newman – Bridge of Spies

Carter Burwell – Carol

Ennio Morricone – The Hateful Eight - WINNER

Johann Johannsson – Sicario

John Williams – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Original Song:

Earned It – Fifty Shades of Grey

  • Music by: The Weeknd, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephen Moccio
  • Lyrics by: The Weeknd, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephen Moccio

Manta Ray – Racing Extinction

  • Music by: J. Ralph
  • Lyrics by: Antony Hegarty

Simple Song #3 – Youth

  • Music by: David Lang
  • Lyrics by: David Lang

Til it happens to you - The Hunting Ground

  • Music by: Diana Warren and Lady Gaga
  • Lyrics by: Diana Warren and Lady Gaga

Writing’s on the Wall – Spectre - WINNER

  • Music by: Jimmy Napes
  • Lyrics by: Sam Smith

Best Production Design:

Bridge of Spies

  • Production Design: Adam Stockhausen
  • Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich

The Danish Girl

  • Production Design: Eve Stewart
  • Set Decoration: Michael Standish

Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

  • Production Design: Colin Gibson
  • Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson

The Martian

  • Production Design: Arthur Max
  • Set Decoration: Celia Bobak

The Revenant

  • Production Design: Jack Fisk
  • Set Decoration: Hamish Purdy

Best Short Film (Animated):

Bear Story - WINNER


Sanjay’s Super Team

We Can’t Live without Cosmos

World of Tomorrow

Best Short Film (Live Action):

Ave Maria

Day One

Everything Will be Okay (Alles Wird Gut)


Stutterer - WINNER

Best Sound Editing

Mark Mangini and David White – Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

Oliver Tarney – The Martian

Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender – The Revenant

Alan Robert Murray – Sicario

Matthew Wood and David Acord – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Sound Mixing:

Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin – Bridge of Spies

Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo – Mad Max: Fury Road - WINNER

Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth – The Martian

Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montano, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek – The Revenant

Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Visual Effects:

Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett – Ex Machina - WINNER

Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams – Mad Max: Fury Road

Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Stevem Warner – The Martian

Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer – The Revenant

Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Adapted Screenplay

Charles Randolph and Adam McKay - The Big Short -WINNER

Nick Hornby - Brooklyn

Phyllis Nagy - Carol

Drew Goddard - The Martian

Emma Donoghue - Room

Best Original Screenplay

Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen - Bridge of Spies

Alex Garland - Ex Machina

Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, Pete Docter and Ronnie del Carmen - Inside Out

Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy - Spotlight -WINNER

Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff, S. Leigh Savidge and Alan Wenkus - Straight Outta Compton

Copyright 2016 Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly