Vanderburgh County will receive winter storm aid - 14 News, WFIE, Evansville, Henderson, Owensboro

Vanderburgh County will receive winter storm aid

Posted: Updated:
The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved aid for nine more Indiana counties hit by a winter storm.
FEMA initially had rejected Indiana's request for aid for local governments and some nonprofit groups following the Jan. 5-9 snowstorm. Gov. Mike Pence appealed the decision, and FEMA last month initially approved aid for 19 counties.
Pence said Tuesday that FEMA now has approved aid for nine more counties: Blackford, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Johnson, LaGrange, Marion, Montgomery, and Vanderburgh. They can get federal grants to cover 75 percent of expenses for the storm's damage to roads and other infrastructure.
Each of the counties except Vanderburgh also will be reimbursed for the cost of 48 hours of snow removal.
Pence says the decision means local budgets can be replenished with millions of dollars.
(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Powered by WorldNow