15 aspiring filmmakers win Student Academy Awards - Tri-State News, Weather & Sports

15 aspiring filmmakers win Student Academy Awards



 Fifteen aspiring filmmakers are joining a club that includes John Lasseter, Trey Parker and Spike Lee: They've won Student Academy Awards.

The film academy announced its 2014 honorees Friday in alternative, animation, documentary, narrative and foreign films. Gold, silver and bronze medals will be presented at a free public ceremony June 7 at the DGA Theater in Los Angeles.
The winners are:
- Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York.
- Drew Brown, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida.
- Teng Chang, University of Southern California.
- Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah.
- Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California.
- Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University, California.
- Zijian Mu, New York University.
- J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University.
- Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York.
- Yulin Liu, New York University.
- Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, Los Angeles.
- Peter Baumann, Northern Film School, U.K.
- Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film, Munich.
- Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Powered by Frankly