State of Disaster Emergency in 29 Indiana Counties

Governor Mike Pence has declared a state of disaster emergency for 29 counties affected by the severe weather that began January 5.

"As a result of the severe snowstorms, extreme cold and dangerous wind conditions that have impacted counties across Indiana, I have declared a state of disaster emergency in the 29 counties that were most affected by the storm, and the State of Indiana stands ready to assist Hoosiers as needed," said Governor Pence.  "We will continue to respond to this serious winter storm and evaluate its impact on other Indiana counties going forward."

The counties included in the declaration are:

  • Clinton
  • Delaware
  • Elkhart
  • Fulton
  • Grant
  • Howard
  • Jasper
  • Kosciusko
  • LaGrange
  • Lake
  • LaPorte
  • Madison
  • Marshall
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Noble
  • Porter
  • Pulaski
  • Rush
  • St. Joseph
  • Starke
  • Steuben
  • Sullivan
  • Tipton
  • Vermillion
  • Vigo
  • Wabash
  • White
  • Whitley

Copyright 2014 WFIE. All rights reserved.