57 Indiana counties issue travel advisories

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security reports 19 counties in western and central Indiana are asking residents to stay off of roads because of dangerous conditions.

The counties that have issued travel warnings stretch from Newton to Vermillion county along the Illinois state line and as far east as Huntington and Delaware counties.

Another 21 counties - ranging from Posey County in extreme southwest Indiana to Steuben County in the extreme northeast - have issued travel watches, meaning conditions are threatening to public safety. Residents in those counties are asked to use roads only for essential travel, such as for work or in emergencies.

Anoter 22 counties have issued travel advisories, which means routine travel or activities may be restricted in areas because of a hazardous situation.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)