Warrick Co. denied grant money for security - 14 News, WFIE, Evansville, Henderson, Owensboro

Warrick Co. denied grant money for security

Posted: Updated:

Warrick County School District officials say they're disappointed after learning they did not get any state grant money to boost security.  

Indiana's Secured School Safety Grant program gave money to districts in seven southwestern counties. Warrick County applied, with no luck. 

Most of Warrick's school buildings have secure doors that are locked most of the day and require visitors to get passes. But three of the buildings do not and that's one the big reasons the district was hoping for this grant money.

"It's just disappointing. I thought we had a great plan, but obviously something was missing," said Superintendent Brad Schneider.

Schneider says his district was depending on the grant money to make security upgrades happen sooner rather than later. 

"It's certainly not something we're going to raise the white flag on and say we're no longer interested in school security. That's certainly not the case, but it will delay some things for sure," Schneider said.

The grant program is a matching one which means schools have to pay the amount they receive. The highest amount a district can get is $50,000. That's the amount Warrick County had set aside for the grant.

Schneider believes they will be able to upgrade door security at Tecumseh, Elberfeld, and Oakdale schools and will be able to hire another School Resource Officer, but without the grant money he says it's going to take them much longer to get it done.

The only other southwestern Indiana county that did not get the grant was Pike county. The school corporation there says they did not apply because they can't afford to match it.

To find out which districts, within their county, will be receiving grant money you can visit their 14 News Community page:


  • Barr-Reeve Community Schools - $15,000 for school security equipment
  • North Daviess Community Schools - $50,000 for school security equipment
  • Washington Community Schools - $50,000 for school resource officer

Dubois County

Gibson County

Spencer and Perry Counties

Posey County

Related Story:

Indiana schools receive grants to increase security

Copyright 2013 WFIE. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow