Vanderburgh County issues property tax reminder - 14 News, WFIE, Evansville, Henderson, Owensboro

Vanderburgh County issues property tax reminder

Posted: Updated:

Vanderburgh County Treasurer Rick Davis reminds taxpayers that the Civic Center is open on Monday, Nov. 12, and property tax payments can be made at the Treasurer's Office until 4:30 p.m. today and Tuesday.  The property tax deadline for the Fall Installment of taxes is Tuesday, Nov. 13.  In addition to going to the Civic Center today, taxpayers may still make payments using the county's web site, pay by phone, or use the drop box in front of the Civic Center in order to avoid enhanced Civic Center security. 

On Tuesday, the final day of property tax payment, taxpayers may use any one of 18 local Old National Bank branches.  To pay at Old National Bank, you must have the bill that was mailed to your home in the spring.  If you do not have your bill, you cannot pay at the bank.

The traditional property tax deadline, Nov. 10, fell on a Saturday this year.  Due to the fact local banks observe Veterans Day today, Indiana property owners were given an additional 3 days to make their fall payment.  That means the Indiana property tax deadline is Tuesday, Nov. 13 this year.

The Treasurer's Office will open at 8 a.m. on Tuesday and will accept payments until 4:30 p.m.  To avoid potential long lines, parking issues, and enhanced Civic Center security, Davis strongly recommended that property owners make their payments at any Old National Bank branch in the Tri-State Area on Tuesday.

Davis also suggested using the convenient drop box in front of the Civic Center or by mailing checks, made payable to the Vanderburgh County Treasurer, at PO Box 77, Evansville, IN  47701-0077.  So long as your envelope is postmarked on or before Nov. 13, your payment will be considered on time, said Davis.

Davis reminded last-minute taxpayers that the drop box will be open until midnight on Tuesday, Nov. 13.  Missing the Nov. 13 deadline will add a 5% penalty to your amount owed if you have no previous delinquencies.  That amount increases to 10% after 30 days.  If you miss the Nov. 13 deadline and already have a delinquency that penalty is an automatic 10% fee.

Payments can also be made online at with a major credit card for a 2.6% convenience fee or by using the office's E-Check feature for a flat $1.95 fee.  Payments are also accepted over the phone by calling 1-800-2PAYTAX (use the following "jurisdiction code" – 2405) with a major credit card and by paying a 2.6% fee.  Visa Debit users are able to pay a flat $3.95 fee.  Davis noted that the Vanderburgh County Commissioners recently signed a new contract with the county's credit card provider that reduced credit card fees from 2.75% to 2.6% and reduced the E-check fee from $3 to $1.95.  The new rates took effect on Nov. 1, just in time for the fall payment period rush.

If you cannot find your bill, visit the Treasurer's Office web site and look up your information online.  You can mail your check in with the correct payment amount so long as you put your parcel ID number in the memo section.  You may also contact the Treasurer's Office at 435-5248 for any questions concerning your property tax payment.

Below are the Old National banking centers accepting the Vanderburgh County Property Taxes on Tuesday, Nov. 13, with lobby hours from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

1. Evansville Main

2. Evansville North Side

3. Washington & Kentucky

4. West Side

5. 41 North

6. Hebron

7. University Square

8. North Brook

9. Darmstadt

10. Red Bank

11. Burkhardt Rd

12. Lakeside Commons

13. Bell Oaks

14. Boonville

15. Princeton

16. Mt Vernon, IN

17. Henderson, Ky., Main

18. Henderson, Ky., North

Powered by WorldNow