NCAA official backs Stanford-Notre Dame overtime call

The national coordinator of NCAA football officials says replay officials at the Stanford-Notre Dame game were correct to let the call on the field for the last play of the game stand.

Field officials ruled Stanford running back Stepfan Taylor's progress had been stopped before he reached the ball across the goal line for what would have been a potential tying touchdown on fourth-and-goal in overtime.

There was a video review of the play and the call was confirmed, giving Notre Dame 20-13 win Saturday.

National coordinator of officials Rogers Redding says there was nothing unusual about the way officials on the field or in the replay booth handled the decisive play.

He also says that from the replay he saw, he "would have to let that call stand."