New EVSC leadership announced - 14 News, WFIE, Evansville, Henderson, Owensboro

New EVSC leadership announced

Posted: Updated:

Posted by Jill Lyman - email

EVANSVILLE, IN (WFIE) - Superintendent Vince Bertram announces several Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation schools will have new leadership in the coming school year.

Dr. Bertram says this is in effort to better align leadership practice and improve student achievement.

New leaders include:

  • Harrison High School:
    • Elizabeth Wells, principal at Evans Middle School for the past three years, will become the new principal at Harrison this fall. Wells served as assistant principal at Evans for two years and as an English teacher and department head at Central High School from 1993-2004. She holds a BA degree and an MS degree from the University of Southern Indiana and will complete her EdS degree from ISU this summer and is working toward a PhD in educational leadership at ISU. Wells will replace Janet Leistner, who will work with the Office of Instructional Technology on the one-to-one laptop initiative for EVSC schools.
    • Andy Ice, former assistant principal will move to teacher of mathematics at the School of Academic and Career Development .
  • Evans Middle School:
  • o Brent Stevens will replace Wells as principal at Evans Middle School. Stevens will move to Evans from the assistant principal position at Perry Heights Middle School where he has served since 1996. Prior to Perry Heights, Stevens began in the EVSC in 1990 as a social studies teacher at Harwood Middle School. He holds a BA degree from Purdue University; an MS degree from the University of Southern Indiana; and an EdS degree from Indiana State University. He is also in the PhD program at ISU.
  • McGary Middle School:
  • o Mary Schweizer, currently director of coordinated school health and formerly principal at Plaza Park Middle School, will become the new principal at McGary. Schweizer has been with the EVSC since 1986. She has served as a teacher at Glenwood, Stockwell and Helfrich Park; as assistant principal at Helfrich Park from 1999-2000; as principal of Plaza Park Middle school for eight years and this year as project director of coordinated school health. She has a BA and MA degree from the University of Evansville and an MA +30 hours from Indiana State University and expects to complete her EdS. in December from ISU. Schweizer will replace Don Mosbey.
  • o Sgt. Kenneth Walker, formerly with the JROTC program at Harrison, will become Assistant principal/dean. He replaces Fred Cooper who will move to Harwood as an assistant principal.
  • Christa McAuliffe Alternative Middle School:
  • o Don Mosbey replaces Bob Tinner, currently program administrator at Christa McAuliffe Alternative Middle School, who will become a social worker at Henry Reis Alternative High School.
  • Delaware Elementary:
  • o Todd Slagle, currently principal at West Terrace Elementary, will become the new principal at Delaware Elementary School. Slagle has been at West Terrace since 2005. Prior to West Terrace, Slagle was principal at Daniel Wertz for five years and from 1995-2000 taught mathematics at Delaware. He holds a BA degree from the University of Southern Indiana and an MA degree from Indiana State University. Slagle replaces Jennifer Garland who will be lead instructional coach at McGary Middle School.
  • Thompkins Middle School:
  • o Bryan Perry, currently assistant principal at North High School, will become principal at Thompkins Middle School, replacing Terry Yunker following his retirement this spring after 19 years in the position. Perry has served as assistant principal at North High School for the past eight years. Prior to that he was a social studies teacher at North from 1993-1994 and again from 2000-2001 as department head. He was also teacher for six years at Central High School. He has BS and MS degrees from the University of Southern Indiana.
  • Glenwood Middle School:
  • o Cleo Walker, formerly assistant principal at Bosse High School, will take the same position at Glenwood. Walker replaces Darrin Carnahan, who is moving to assistant principal at Perry Heights Middle School.
  • West Terrace Elementary:
  • o Katherine White, currently assistant principal at Highland Elementary, will replace Todd Slagle as principal at West Terrace. White has been the assistant principal at Highland Elementary School since 2007 and prior to that fifth grade teacher for two years at the school. She also has been a special education teacher at Stockwell Elementary and the Mulberry Center. White has a B.A. degree from the University of Evansville and an M.S. degree from Walden University.
  • Highland Elementary:
  • o Cyndi Carneal will become the new assistant principal at Highland, replacing Katherine White. Carneal formerly was a counselor at Hebron Elementary.

©2009 WFIE. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don Mosbey

Bryan Perry

Todd Slagle

Brent Stevens

Mary Schweizer

Elizabeth Wells

Katie White

Powered by WorldNow